top of page

Soul Searching Abroad


I just graduated from college this last December. As a senior, I nearly made myself sick worrying about finding a job for after I graduated. After all, that's just what you're expected to do when you spend $120,000 on a degree. I was devastated when graduation rolled around and I still had no offers. I felt like a failure; I felt as if I let my family down. However, they assured me during the long job search process that God had a plan and that everything happened for a reason. One day, I was watching TV and an ad came on for FTO to sponsor a child. That's when I finally figured out God's plan for me. After contacting the orphanage, I learned that they were always in desperate need of volunteers to help care for the children. After making some calls and arranging lodging, I decided that my calling was to serve a mission abroad in Karvolo. I learned more about life in that 4 month trip than I learned in my 4 years of college. Working with the children was very rewarding. I learned not to take life's simple pleasures for granted, learned a new language, and I learned about another culture other than my own. Most importantly, I learned how important it is to serve those in need.


More Posts
Join us!

FTO volunteers are individuals and groups who commit to spending anywhere from one week to one lifetime at FTO Bulgaria. We welcome all ages and nationalities to spend time with us to support and further our goals with our orphans and the Karlovo community.

 

Read through our volunteer blogs to get a taste of the opportunities available to volunteers. When you're ready to sign up, email Anton, FTO Bulgaria's co-director, to ask questions and make arrangements for your visit!

bottom of page